Friday, June 2, 2023
HomeNationalIndia vs South Africa 2nd T20I : India beat South Africa by...

India vs South Africa 2nd T20I : India beat South Africa by 16 runs

India defeated South Africa by 16 runs in a high-scoring second T20I to take an unassailable 2-0 lead in the three-match series on Sunday. Sent in to bat, India posted a massive 237 for three, riding on a solid batting display by the top four and then returned to restrict the visitors to 221 for 3 in the stipulated 20 overs. Quinton de Kock (69 not out) and David Miller (106 not out) did the bulk of scoring for the visitors.

Highlights India vs South Africa 2nd T20I: David Miller's century goes in vain as India beat South Africa by 16 runs | Cricket News | Zee News

KL Rahul (57) and Rohit Sharma (43) put on a 96-run opening stand to set the foundation for India at the Barsapara cricket stadium. Suryakumar Yadav (61) then took centre stage as he smashed five boundaries and as many sixes en route to his 102-run stand off just 40 balls with Virat Kohli (49 not out). Dinesh Karthik then made some lusty blows in his seven-ball 17 not out.

IND vs SA Highlights T20 2022: Arshdeep Singh celebrates with teammates after picking a wicket

Keshav Maharaj (2/23) was the most successful bowler for South Africa but it turned out to be a disastrous day for the rest of his bowling colleagues. For India, Arshdeep Singh (2/62) and Axar Patel (1/53) were the wicket-takers.

Axar Patel concedes 20 runs in his final over as South Africa manage 221-3 in response to India’s 237/3. India win the match by 16 runs and with this take an unassailable 2-0 lead in the three-match series.

IND vs SA 2nd T20 Highlights: India beat South Africa by 16 runs, Hundred for David Miller | Sports News,The Indian Express

Miller returns unbeaten on 106(47), while Quinton de Kock slams an unbeaten 69(48).

Harshal Patel starts with a six but recovers well as 11 runs come off the over. SA: 175/3 (18 overs)

Temba Bavuma and Quinton de Kock are out to open for South Africa. Deepak Chahar with the new ball. Chahar to Bavuma first ball. Chahar slips a bit at the point of delivery and pulls out. First ball yet to come. Good length ball swinging into Bavuma and the batter misses trying to tuck it on the leg-side. Out-swinger next ball and beats Bavuma outside off. Two dots to start with. Bavuma pushes this to square leg with the inside half of the bat and is sent back by de Kock, who refuses the single. Prodigious movement away from the batter and beats Bavuma again, who looks to drive away from the body. Punched off the backfoot by Bavuma to point. Five dot balls. Shapes away again to beat Bavuma and maiden over for Chahar.

India Vs South Africa 2nd T20i Highlights: Miller'S Hundred In Vain As India Win By 16 Runs To Take 2-0 Unassailable Lead In The Series

Rabada replaces Ngidi. SIX! Audacious SKY. He shuffles across his stumps and whips this off his legs for a maximum behind square. FOUR! 10 off 2 for SKY as he drills this down the ground for a one-bounce four at long-off. 1000 runs in T20Is up for Suryakumar Yadav! FOUR! This is short and Suryakumar once again shuffles across and pulls this over the keeper for four more. SIX! Full-toss and Suryakumar gets a top edge but the ball still clears backward square leg for a maximum.

India: Rohit Sharma (c), Virat Kohli, KL Rahul (vc), Arshdeep Singh, Ravichandran Ashwin, Mohammed Siraj, Yuzvendra Chahal, Deepak Chahar, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Rishabh Pant (wk), Axar Patel, Harshal Patel, Suryakumar Yadav.

South Africa: Temba Bavuma (c), Quinton de Kock (wk), Bjorn Fortuin, Reeza Hendricks, Marco Jansen, Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Wayne Parnell, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Rilee Rossouw, Tabraiz Shamsi, Tristan Stubbs (wk).

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments