Friday, July 5, 2024
HomeSpot lightKarnataka Elections 2023: Voting started, PM Modi and other opposition leaders also...

Karnataka Elections 2023: Voting started, PM Modi and other opposition leaders also appealed to the people to vote

Voting for 224 seats in the Karnataka Legislative Assembly began at 7 am. Let us know that the polling will be held till 6 pm. A total of 5,31,33,054 voters will exercise their franchise at 58,545 polling stations across the state. These voters will decide the electoral fate of 2,615 candidates.

Among the voters, 2,67,28,053 are male, 2,64,00,074 are female and 4,927 are others. Among the candidates, 2,430 are male, 184 female and one candidate is from the other gender. There are 11,71,558 youth voters in the state, while 5,71,281 are physically challenged and 12,15,920 are above 80 years of age.

At the same time, after the start of voting, other leaders including the Prime Minister of the country Narendra Modi also appealed to the people to use their rights in the elections.

In a tweet, Prime Minister Narendra Modi urged the people of Karnataka, especially the youth and first-time voters, to vote in large numbers and enrich the festival of democracy.

Union Home Minister Amit Shah on Wednesday asked voters to vote for good governance in Karnataka.

“On voting day, I urge our sisters and brothers of Karnataka to come out in large numbers to vote for good governance, development and prosperity in the state. Your one vote can ensure a pro-people and pro-progress govt that will continue to take the state to newer heights,” he said in a tweet.

The ruling BJP, the Congress, and former prime minister H D Deve Gowda Janata Dal (Secular) are competing for 224 seats in what is primarily being viewed as a three-cornered contest. During the day-long exercise, the electoral fates of high-profile figures like Chief Minister Basavaraj Bommai, Congress veterans Siddaramaiah and DK Shivakumar, and JD(S) leader HD Kumaraswamy, among others will be sealed during the day-long exercise.

On May 13, the polled votes will be counted. The voting, which began at 7 a.m. under tight security, will continue until 6 p.m.

The Congress is attempting to wrest power in order to provide the party with the much-needed elbow room and momentum to position itself as the main opposition player in the 2024 parliamentary elections, while the ruling BJP, riding on the Modi juggernaut, wants to break the 38-year jinx and tighten the grip on its southern stronghold. The State has never voted for the incumbent party to power since 1985.

Follow Hindumetro On Google News

Follow Google News » hindu metro

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments