Friday, July 5, 2024
HomeSpot lightIPL 2023: Shubman Gill maiden IPL century for Gujarat Titans

IPL 2023: Shubman Gill maiden IPL century for Gujarat Titans

Opening batter Shubman Gill hit the first-ever century for Gujarat Titans to get his side off to a flying start against SunRisers Hyderabad at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad.

After being stranded on the 90s twice before, Gill crossed the 100-run mark this time around. En route to his century, Gill also scored the third-fastest fifty for the Titans, getting to the landmark in just 22 deliveries. Gill then went on to complete his century in just 56 balls. Gill scored 101 runs off 56 balls, hitting 13 boundaries and a solitary six.


Gill has now overtaken Mumbai Indians batter Suryakumar Yadav, Chennai Super Kings opener Devon Conway and Rajasthan Royals opener Yashasvi Jaiswal to move up to second place in the race for the Orange Cap in IPL 2023.

Also Read:


Gill was on the non-striker’s end when he saw SRH pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar dismiss fellow opening partner Wridhhiman Saha for a duck in the third ball of the match. However, the early breakthrough did not dampen Gill’s spirits as the 23-year-old went hell for leather from the get-go.

Gill took on Bhuvneshwar in the third over, smashing the veteran pacer for three boundaries. He then targeted left-arm pacer Fazalhaq Farooqi in the vert next over, hitting him fof four back-to-back boundaries. SRH captain was Gill’s next target as he hit the part-time spinner for a couple of boundaries, before bringing up his half-century by smashing Mayank Markande for a boundary in the eighth over.

Gill kept the scoreboard ticking as he brought up a crucial 100-run partnership with B Sai Sudharsan. Gill let loose in the 12th over against part-time spinner Abhishek Sharma, smashing him for a six and a four.

The two batters combined for a 147-run stand, which is the highest for GT this season before Sudharsan was caught by T Natarajan off Marco Jansen’s bowling. GT skipper Hardik Pandya and the hard-hitting David Miller couldn’t move the scoreboard much and were dismissed by Bhuvneshwar and Natarajan respectively.

Follow Hindumetro On Google News

Follow Google News » hindu metro

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments